About the Springfield Arts Commission

The Springfield Arts Commission was established by the City Council in 1986 at the end of the Centennial Celebration. The Council charged the Commission to encourage the community’s emerging arts groups, and with the creation of the Art Alley, a series of outdoor murals in the downtown neighborhood.

The first Art Alley mural was a small one at 122 Fifth Street, titled It Ain’t Why, it Just Is, painted by artist Alan Cox in 1988. The second mural, at 130 5th Street, titled Bob the Dog Visits the Old Growth, was painted by John R. Swenson in 1989. Each artist was paid $50 and used materials provided by the Commission.

The Commission accomplishes their work through an active, nine-member volunteer citizen board, a modest annual budget, and part-time staff support.

2023 Regular Meetings

2023 Subcommittee Meetings

1/14/2023, 12:00 – 12:45pm Marketing Subcommittee: Agenda
4/20/2023, 5:30 – 7:00pm Spending Proposal Subcommittee: Agenda
5/1/2023, 5:30 – 7:00pm Art Walk Subcommittee: Agenda
5/1/2023, 5:30 – 7:00pm Gallery Subcommittee: Agenda
5/12/2023, 6:30 – 7:00pm Art Walk Subcommittee: Agenda
6/20/23, 5:15 – 7:00pm Youth Art Gallery Subcommittee: Agenda

2022 Regular Meetings

1/11/2022: Agenda | Arts Commission Budget FY 2022 | Minutes
2/8/2022: Agenda | HAG Application Guidelines 2022 | Minutes
3/8/2022: Agenda | Application – S. Bryan | Minutes
4/12/2022: Agenda | Ditch Projects Form | Ditch Projects Press Release | Ditch Projects Cover | Ditch Projects Project Evaluation | Minutes
5/10/2022: Agenda | Arts Commission Budget FY 2022 | HAG 2022 Review (Excel)
6/14/2022: Agenda | Illumination Funding Support Report 2022 | SAC Bookmark Contest Proposal | The Shoppes at Gateway Media Kit
9/13/2022: Agenda | June Minutes | Budget Summary | Recruitment Overview | Proxy comment Thi Nguyen | Call to Artist Overview | Mayor Art Show Overview | Mayor Art Show Jury Process | Subcommittees and Public Meeting Law | Minutes
10/11/2022: AgendaSeptember Minutes | Budget Summary | Recruitment (2022_10_SAC_Recruitment_Overview.pdf) Mayors Art Show | Art Walk OLCC UpdateArt Walk Performing Artist Interest | Cultural Appropriation Dance Magazine ArticleCultural Appropriation Blog Article | Cultural Appropriation Salon Article | ILLUMINATION Sponsorship Request (2022_10_Springfield_Arts_Commission_Funding_Request_ILLUMINATION_Springfield_History_Museum.pdf) ILLUMINATION SAC Summary | Minutes
11/08/2022: Agenda | October Minutes | Subcommittees Public Meeting Law | Liaison and Commissioner one-one-one meetings | Recruitment Overview | Funding Request ILLUMINATION | Summary ILLUMINATION | ILLUMINATION funding ethics
12/13/2022: Agenda | November Meeting Minutes | December Budget Summary | Choosing Gallery Artists 2022 | City Hall Gallery Information for Exhibiting Artists | Gallery Committee Duties | SAC FY23 Priorities Discussion | Fillable HAG app 2022

Springfield Arts Commission Bylaws

2022 Subcommittee Meetings

1/29/2022: Agenda
3/5/2022, 3:30-4:30pm: Heritage Arts Grant Subcommittee – Application Q&A: Agenda
4/6/2022, 5:00-6:30pm: Heritage Arts Grant Subcommittee – Application Eligibility Review: Agenda
5/3/2022, 5:00-6:30pm: Heritage Arts Grant Subcommittee: Agenda | Minutes
9/28/2022, 11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.: Mayor’s Art Show Subcommittee: Agenda

Heritage Arts Grant

The Springfield Arts Commission’s annual Heritage Arts Grant Program makes funds available to groups involved in the cultural life of the city. The goal of these grants is to encourage community-based public programs, such as, but not limited to concerts, theater, visual art, dance, or literature. The grant program is funded by City of Springfield room taxes and is administered by the Springfield Arts Commission (SAC). Applications open in early Spring 2022.

Heritage Arts Grant is now open for applications. Apply by April 1, 2022.

Heritage Arts Grant 2022 Application and Guidelines

For more information, watch this pre-recorded Q&A Heritage Arts Grant session (March 5, 2022)

Springfield Public Art Self-Guided Tour

Springfield Arts Commissioners

Arts Commission Roster:
Summer Young-Jelinek, Chair
Meredith Branch, Vice Chair
Uyen-thi Nguyen, Secretary
Kelly Moninger
Melissa Green
Antonio Huerta
Mindy Linder, City Staff Liaison
Leonard Stoehr, City Council Liasion

Contact Arts Commission Liaison Mindy Linder at mlinder@springfield-or.gov, 541-744-3388.

Mailing List

Please join our mailing list for updates on the Springfield Arts Commission’s work and opportunities, including City Hall Gallery calls to artists, Heritage Arts Grant announcements, Commissioner openings and more!