Applications are available by visiting our website at:

The deadline to submit your application for any of the Boards, Committees, and Commissions is 5 p.m., Friday, October 23, 2020. Due to current COVID precautions, we ask that you complete and submit your application electronically if possible or contact the staff liaison listed for the committee you interested in to make other arrangements.

Applicants will be interviewed during the month of November by the Springfield City Council during one of the four Work Sessions scheduled. Dates and times to be announced.

Springfield Library Board

The City of Springfield is seeking applications for volunteer positions on the Springfield Library Advisory Board. The Library Advisory Board acts as a citizen sounding board on current library department services including review of policies and procedures. It also participates in the Library’s strategic planning process and future development of services in Springfield including both facilities and funding strategies. Springfield is a diverse community, persons of all ages, ethnic and religious backgrounds, gender and sexual orientation are encouraged to apply. The Board meets the first Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in City Hall.

We are seeking a dynamic Springfield residents, or property owner to join the Board in order to help the Library fulfill its mission to provide library services for personal enrichment, enjoyment, and lifelong learning for all Springfield residents.

For more information, contact: Emily David, Library Director, 541.726.2235 or at


Springfield Museum Committee

The Springfield Museum is seeking applicants with strong interest in the history and culture of Springfield to join its Museum advisory committee. The Museum’s mission is to foster an awareness of the history of Springfield, provide a link between our past and present, and promote an appreciation of the diverse communities that call Springfield and rural east Lane County home. The committee is responsible for making recommendations for Museum exhibits and programs, drafting policies and procedures, and assisting with community outreach and publicity. The Committee meets at 5:30 p.m. every third Tuesday in the Springfield Museum.

Requirements: Committee members are required to attend monthly meetings, as well as plan, develop, and assist with Museum projects and activities. Applicants must be at least 18 years old. Preference will be given to applicants who live or own a business in Springfield, which includes 97477, 97478, or 97482 zip codes.

For Additional Information: Madeline McGraw, 541.726.3677,  or Emily David, 541.726.2235,


Springfield Police Advisory Committee

The police advisory committee was initially established in 1994 as the Police Planning Task Force to develop a long-range plan for providing police services. A plan was completed and adopted by City Council in April 1996, and updated in 2002 and 2010. To date, much of the long-range plan has been accomplished, most notably the construction and opening of the Springfield Municipal Jail. The committee has continued for the purpose of providing citizen input to the Chief of Police on long range planning, plan implementation strategies and development of police department operational policies and procedures.

The police advisory committee consists of four neighborhood and citizen-at-large representatives, one School District 19 representative, one Willamalane Parks and Recreation District representative, two local business community representatives, one cultural minority representative, and one faith community representative. The committee generally meets on the first Thursday of every other month.

The Springfield Police Advisory Committee is currently seeking an applicant to fill the vacant cultural minority representative position.

For Additional Information: Jessica Crawford at 541.726.3729 or .


Historic Commission

The qualifications for membership on the Historic Commission include being appointees of Willamalane Park & Recreation District or Springfield School District #19; or individuals who meet professional qualifications in the disciplines of architecture, history, architectural history, archeology, or related fields who live within the Metropolitan Area General Plan boundaries; or residents, electors, or property owners within Springfield.

The Springfield Historic Commission is appointed by the City Council and serves to advance the identification, protection, preservation, education, and interpretation of Springfield’s cultural heritage and history. As such, the Commission organizes projects and programs to encourage stewardship of the community’s historic assets. The Commission also reviews development and restoration requests within the Washburne Historic District and for other Springfield historic resources. Historic Commission meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every other month starting at noon in City Hall.

The candidates appointed to these positions are eligible to serve up to two, four-year terms.

For Additional Information: Andrew Larson at 541.736.1003 or at


Springfield Arts Commission

The Springfield Arts Commission is seeking applicants committed to enriching our community through art. Commissioners provide opportunities for artistic creation, exhibits, performances, events, and promote cooperation among local organizations to make art accessible for everyone. Springfield is a diverse community, persons of all ages, ethnic and religious backgrounds, gender and sexual orientation are encouraged to apply.

Commission members are required to attend evening meetings the second Tuesday of the month, September through June, as well as plan, develop, and assist with commission projects and activities. No fewer than seven of the nine members appointed to the Springfield Arts Commission must reside, own property, or own a business in Springfield (97477, 97478, or 97482).There is one non-resident seat available for application. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and be registered voters. Arts Commissioners serve “at-large” positions with no ward restrictions and four-year terms. The two terms are due to expired vacancies, current commissioners are eligible to reapply.

For Additional Information: Amy Orre, 541.726.2246,