## What you need to know



Starting in September 2023, Paid Leave Oregon will serve most employees in Oregon by providing paid leave for the birth or adoption of a child, a serious illness of yours or a loved one, or if you experience sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment, or stalking.

# What benefits are provided through Paid Leave Oregon and who is eligible?

Employees in Oregon that have earned at least \$1,000 in the prior year may qualify for up to 12 weeks of paid family, medical or safe leave in a benefit year. While on leave, Paid Leave Oregon pays employees a percentage of their wages. Benefit amounts depend on what an employee earned in the prior year.

#### Who pays for Paid Leave Oregon?

Starting on January 1, 2023, employees and employers contribute to Paid Leave Oregon through payroll taxes.
Contributions are calculated as a percentage of wages and your employer will deduct your portion of the contribution rate from your paycheck.

# When do I need to tell my employer about taking leave?

If your leave is foreseeable, you are required to give notice to your employer at least 30 days before starting paid family, medical or safe leave. If you do not give the required notice, Paid Leave Oregon may reduce your first weekly benefit by 25%.

### How do I apply for Paid Leave?

The City is using Lincoln to administer the Paid Leave plan.

1. Self-Service online through MyLincolnPortal.com: If this is your first time logging in, you will ned the City's code, LF1073CIT. Follow the guided steps, beginning with Start a claim or leave.

2. By phone: If you prefer to speak to a representative, Lincoln's claims specialist can be reached at 888-408-7300.

#### What are my rights?

If you are eligible for paid leave, your employer cannot prevent you from taking it. Your job is protected while you take paid leave if you have worked for your employer for at least 90 consecutive calendar days. You will not lose your pension rights while on leave and your employer must keep giving you the same health benefits as when you are working.

### How is my information protected?

Any health information related to family, medical or safe leave that you choose to share with your employer is confidential and can only be released with your permission, unless the release is required by law.

# What if I have questions about my rights?

It is unlawful for your employer to discriminate or retaliate against you because you asked about or claimed paid leave benefits. If your employer is not following the law, you have the right to bring a civil suit in court or to file a complaint with the Oregon Bureau of Labor & Industries (BOLI). You can file a complaint with BOLI online, via phone or email:

Web: www.oregon.gov/boli

Call: 971-245-3844

Email: help@boli.oregon.gov

Learn more about Paid Leave Oregon

Web: paidleave.oregon.gov

Call: 833-854-0166

Email: paidleave@oregon.gov

State of Oregon Employment Department